Fall Meditation

Every year fall delights me. Nondescript shrubs and trees surprise me with their dazzling colors. The cool air and shorter days are visceral reminders that we are not simply brains attached to keyboards and phones, but human animals subject to the rhythms of nature. Being part of a cycle that has been going on every year for eons restores my perspective. I hope these photos refresh you, too.

The pleasing artistry of primary colors—coreopsis, salvia, and burning bush

fall-flowers

 

 

 

 

 

 

The exuberance of neighborhood Halloween decorations

blowup-goblin

 

 

graveyard

 

 

 

 

 

 

The surprise of seeing three construction workers on a seven-story building across from the hospital cafeteria

construction

The peaceful beauty of a golden tree arching over Minnehaha Creek

creek-and-golden-tree

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Winter will be here soon enough, but for now, I’m immersing myself in everything this fall offers.

This entry was posted in Change, Perspective, Recentering, seasons and tagged , , , by Ellen Shriner. Bookmark the permalink.

About Ellen Shriner

I write short memoirs and personal essays. I have also completed a book-length memoir called BRAVADO AND A SKETCHY VISION LED ME HERE. It's is a workplace coming-of-age story that takes place in 1979 and 1980 during my first year of college teaching. I write on topics of interest to working women, middle-aged mothers, Baby Boomers, people who love to read and write, and those who belong to writers' groups and book groups.

8 thoughts on “Fall Meditation

  1. Your post is our fragment of autumn. My most favorite season……..the crock pot, pumpkin recipes, stews and breads and apple pie clutter the kitchen counter. The fire-pit is moved from behind the potting shed and fitted with the right amount of wood for the first evening fire and metal sticks made for marshmallows line in a row. The cats stretch long and lean and look for little patches of morning sunlight rather than nap under a ceiling fan. It is our season, our time, our patch of autumn. Thank you for the reminder!

  2. So fun to momentarily immerse myself in your delight. I heard on the radio the other day that peak color had moved from the Twin Cities to southern MN and realized I hadn’t even known it arrived. SAD.

Comments?

